Today is June 19, 2019 -

Past Programs – 2000

Monday January 3, 2000
THE STATUS OF WOMEN IN MARRIAGE AND DIVORCE IN ISRAEL
Gittit Nachliel, Lawyer and Rabbinic Advocate. This presentation is sponsored by the Women’s League For Conservative Judaism of Moreshet Yisrael Synagogue

Monday January 10
ISRAEL IN THE NEW MILLENIUM FROM THE HINDSIGHT OF A DECADE
Jim Lederman, Journalist & Analyst

Monday January 17
WOMEN’S RELIGIOUS EXPERIENCE AND THE EMPATHIC MODEL FOR SPIRITUAL GUIDANCE IN JEWISH EDUCATION
Batya Yaniger, educator

Monday January 24
THE DEVELOPING JEWISH RELIGION: ANTHROPOLOGICAL PERSPECTIVES
Prof. Ailon Shiloh, anthropologist

Monday January 31
THE RETURN TO POLAND: WHY BOTHER
Michael Berl, Heritage Seminars

Monday February 7
THE MISSION OF THE JEWS ACCORDING TO BERNARD MALAMUD
Prof. Dan Vogel, Professor of Literature at Yeshiva University and Michlalah of Jerusalem, retired, author of two books and numerous articles.

Monday February 14
HEBREW CALENDAR CURIOSITIES
Rabbi Jacob Chinitz, interim rabbi, Shaare Zedek Synagogue, Montreal.

Monday February 21
ETHICAL DILEMAS: A QUESTION OF SURVIVAL
Rabbi Edward S. Romm, Director of Education, The Fuchsberg Center For Conservative Judaism

Monday February 28
THE NAMES BEHIND THE STREETS OF JERUSALEM
Stephanie Glick, Jerusalem Fellow, lecturer at Project Oded

Monday March 6
IT’S ADAR – BE HAPPY: REFLECTIONS ON RELIGIOUS EMOTIONS & PASSIONS
Dr. Theodore Weinberger

Monday March 13
PURIM AS OBSERVED BY JEWISH COMMUNITIES AROUND THE WORLD: A CROSS CULTURAL PERSPECTIVE
Prof. Ailon Shiloh, anthropologist  

Monday March 27
WILL BARAK’S GAMBLE PAY OFF? — PUSHING FOR PEACE, NEGLECTING DOMESTIC ISSUES
David Horovitz, Editor, The Jerusalem Report

Monday April 3
JEWISH LULLABIES FROM AROUND THE WORLD
Hanna Yaffe, Musicologist

Monday April 10
HOW TO PREPARE FOR THE FUTURE WITHIN ISRAEL’S HEALTH SYSTEM TODAY
Jay Shames, Professional Health Consultant and Agent

Monday April 17
STORIES AND COMMENTARY TO ENHANCE YOUR PESACH SEDER
Rabbi Sidney Slivko

 Monday May 1
ANNUAL YOM HASHOAH PRESENTATION: “A CHILD IN NAZI GERMANY: A PERSONAL RECOLLECTION”
Dr. Pesach Schindler  

Monday May 15
THE ISRAELI ECONOMY: BUMPY CONVALESCENCE
Naftalie Greenwood, Editor in Chief of the Israel Year Book and Almanac

Monday May 22
LAG B’ OMER: HISTORY AND FOLKLORE
Prof. Ailon Shiloh, anthropologist

Monday May 29
JEWISH SURVIVAL AS UNIQUE PHENOMENA OVER 4 MILLENNIA
Jim Lederman, economic & political analyst

Monday June 5
THE LIFE AND CULTURE OF THE SHTETL
Dr. Phyllis G. Turk, Cultural Anthropologist

Monday June 12
BE ALIVE AS LONG AS YOU LIVE
Dr. Reuven Bruner, PHD in Health Psychology and Exercise Physiology, Consultant, Feature Writer for “In Jerusalem” of the Jerusalem Post

Monday June 19
WHAT IS KLEZMER MUSIC?
Bruce Brill, Jewish Folk Musician, Founder of “New Country Klezmers”

Monday June 26
THE MARRANOS (ANUSIM) TODAY: CRYPTIC COMMUNITIES AROUND THE WORLD
Gloria Mound, Honorary Research Fellow. University of Glasgow, Executive Director of Casa Shalom Institute for Marrano-Anusim Studies at Gan Yavneh

Monday July 3
“JERUSALEM FOOTSTEPS THROUGH TIME”
Aaron Horowitz, Jewish Educator, Tour Guide and Author speaks about his new book.

Monday July 10
THE CREATION OF A FRAUD: A REEXAMINATION OF THE PROTOCOLS OF THE ELDERS OF ZION
Rabbi Jim Lebeau, Director, The Fuchsberg Center For Conservative Judaism

Monday July 17
‘THE THREE WEEKS: IF I FORGET THEE O’ JERUSALEM”
Rabbi Edward S. Romm, Director of Education, The Fuchsberg Center For Conservative Judaism

Monday July 24
“YOUNG TRAVELERS TO JERUSALEM: THE HOLY LAND IN AMERICAN AND ENGLISH JUVENILE LITERATURE”
Joseph Shadur, former director, the Jerusalem Field Studies Center of the Society for the Protection of Nature, author of numerous books and articles including monographs on 19th Century Middle East.

Monday July 31
SEXUALITY IN THE TALMUD AND MIDRASH
Rabbi Joshua J. Adler, Managing Editor of the Jewish Bible Quarterly

Monday August 7
TISHA B’AV: UP FROM THE ASHES
Prof. Ailon Shiloh, Cultural Anthropologist

Monday August 14
A JEWISH VIEW ON FOREIGN WORKERS IN ISRAEL
Rabbi Yehiel Grainneman

Monday August 21
WHAT IS KLEZMER MUSIC?
Bruce Brill, Jewish Folk musician, Founder of “New Country Klezmers”

Monday August 28
ISRAEL’S HI-TECH REVOLUTION
Arthur Bronstein, Advisor in Hi-Tech Promotion

Monday September 4
“GUARD YOUR TONGUE FROM SPEAKING EVIL: JEWISH PERSPECTIVES ON VERBAL ABUSE”
Rabbi Shlomo Tucker, associate dean Mahon Schechter

Monday September 11
THE KENNEDY ASSASSINATION: WAS IT A CONSPIRACY?
Efriam Gerber, Hebrew University, coordinator of an International Conference on “John F. Kennedy” sponsored by the Israel Association of American Studies.

Monday September 18
ISRAELI GOVERNMENT IN CRISIS
Jim Lederman, political & economic analyst

Monday September 25
THE RAM’S HORN
Rabbi Sidney Slivko, Jewish educator

Monday October 2
THE CONTROVERSY OVER THE “NEW” ARCHAEOLOGY AND THE “OLD” BIBLE
Prof. Ailon Shiloh

Monday October 23
“WITHIN THE WALLS OF JERUSALEM”
Ruth Fogelman, author, photographer and long time resident of the Jewish Quarter shares with us some interesting stories including her slides

Monday October 30
BONE OF MY BONE , FLESH OF MY FLESH: THE CREATION OF WOMAN
Rachel Adelman, Lecturer in Bible, the Conservative Yeshiva.

Monday November 6, 2000
CRISIS AND CROSSROADS: A LOOK AT THE CURRENT SITUATION FACING ISRAEL
Jim Lederman, political & economic analyst

Monday November 13
“A DRIVE TO SURVIVAL 1940”
Yosef Shadur shares with us the personal saga of his family during the Shoah. A most unusual story!

Monday November 20
YOSL BERGNER: AN ARTIST WHO TRIED TO CHANGE THE WORLD
Maxine Blendis, art historian

Monday November 27
JERUSALEM AND ITS ARCHITECTURE FROM THE BEGINNING OF THE CENTURY THROUGH MODERN TIMES
Hava Shemia Natan, Lecturer in Art and Architecture.

Monday December 4, 2000
CONTEMPORARY TRENDS IN ISRAELI CINEMA
Amy W. Kronish, served as the Curator of Jewish and Israeli Film at the Jerusalem Cinematheque and is the author of a study of Israeli Cinema. Video clips included.

Monday December 11
THE INHABITANTS OF THE LAND OF ISRAEL FROM THE CANAANITES TO THE PRESENT: AN ANTHROPOLOGICAL APPRAISAL
Prof. Ailon Shiloh

Monday December 18
WHY THE MEDIA IS NOT THE ENEMY: SORTING FACTS FROM FICTION
Michele Chabin, Journalist, Israel Correspondent for New York Jewish Week and the National Catholic Register, contributor to USA Today

Monday December 25
THE MACCABEAN REVOLT: WHO WON THE WAR?
Rabbi Dr. Avraham Feder, rabbi of Moreshet Yisrael Synagogue.