Today is September 19, 2019 -

Past Programs – 1999

Monday October 4, 1999
FORENSIC MICRO-ARCHAEOLOGY AND THE DEAD SEA SCROLLS
Major Azriel Gorski, Head, Fibers and Polymers Laboratory, Division of Identification and Forensic Science, Israel National Police

Monday October 11
GALILIAN CO-EXISTENCE IN ANCIENT AND MODERN TIMES
Rabbi Jonathan Matt, Director, Byahad Center For Pluralism at Kibbutz Malkiya in the Galil.

Monday October 18
CHANGES IN ISRAELI STRATEGIC THINKING
Doron Geller, Historical Resercher

Monday October 25
THE LATEST ON THE MASORTI (CONSERVATIVE) MOVEMENT AND THE ISRAELI SUPREME COURT
Rabbi Ehud Bandel, President, The Masorti Movement.

Monday November 1
RECONSTRUCTION OF THE JEWISH COMMUNITY OF MOSCOW
Rabbi Jane Kanarek, former faculty member of Project Judaica, Moscow (under the sponsorship of JTS , YIVO, and Russian State Humanities University.

Monday November 8
KRISTALLNACHT LECTURE: GENEALOGY OF A HOLOCAUST SURVIVOR AFTER THE LIBERATION
Mr. Leo Laufer

Monday November 15
THE SHIFT IN THE POWER STRUCTURE OF THE AMERICAN JEWISH COMMUNITY AND ITS IMPACT ON ISRAEL
Rabbi Jerome Epstein, Executive Vice President of the United Synagogue of Conservative Judaism

Monday November 22
THE HEROISM OF SUGIHARA, THE JAPANESE DIPLOMAT WHO SAVED 6000 JEWS
Rabbi Jim Lebeau

Monday November 29
“KAF TET B’ NOVEMBER”: THE DAY THE U.N. VOTED TO CREATE THE JEWISH STATE
Stephanie Glick, Jerusalem Fellow

Monday December 6
HANUKKAH: CONFRONTING ASSIMILATION
Rabbi Avraham Feder

Monday December 13
THE POWER OF WORDS: a very special evening with Rina Levinzon, poetess and author of many books and radio personality

Monday December 20
WHY DO BAD THINGS HAPPEN TO BAD PEOPLE: A CONTEMPORARY INTERPRETATION OF THE 10TH OF TEVET
Shaiya Rothberg, Doctoral Candidate in Jewish Philosophy.

Monday December 27
MILLENIUM: WHY ALL THE FUSS?
Michele Chabin, Journalist, Israel Correspondent for New York Jewish Week and the National Catholic Register, contributor to USA Today.